Gazelle e-bike tips: what e-bikes does Gazelle offer and which one to choose?

Who is Gazelle?

Gazelle bikes logo Gazelle is the largest manufacturer of bicycles in Holland with a market share of over 20% and has produced over 14.5 million bicycles since the company was founded over 100 years ago. Holland boasts the highest number of cyclists per capita in the world, and almost all Dutch cyclist regard their bicycle as a means of transport for year-round, daily use. Since a few years e-bikes are becoming increasingly common on Dutch streets: currently (Fall 2016) more than 1,3 million e-bikes are in use in Holland (on a total Dutch population of 16 million). Also in the area of e-bikes Gazelle is the largest brand in the Netherlands. In the last 10 years Gazelle sold over 500,000 e-bikes.

Which e-bike systems does Gazelle offer?

Gazelle offers 4 different e-bike systems:

Gazelle e-bike with mid-mounted motor Gazelle e-bikes with Impulse, Bosch and Shimano Steps systems have very powerful mid-drive motors with a torque of 70, 48 resp. 50 Nm and are suitable for both flat as well as very hilly routes. These E-bikes are thus all-round bicycles which can be used without care on all Austrian streets as they will be able to master any slope.

Gazelle Vordernabenmotor E-Bike The Panasonic e-bike system boasts a very quiet but less strong hub-drive motor with a maximum torque of 30 Nm. This system is very suitable for flat terrain (hmm, could this be a coincidence for a brand based in the "Netherlands"?) and therefore should also in Austria only be used on routes in flat terrain. To make sure Austrian customers do not need to worry about whether their Gazelle e-bike is suitable for the routes they plan to use it on, Stadtradler does not offer the Panasonic e-bike system in Austria.

The different e-bike systems can be equipped with batteries of several capacity-sizes (Silver-, Gold- or Platinum-Batteries), so that the most cost-efficient solution can be chosen for the desired reach.

What reach per e-bike system, level of support and battery?

The numbers for the supported reach in the tables below should be regarded as indications, as the actual reach will also depend on the combination of the cyclist's weight, type of terrain, temperature, gear used, speed, tire pressure, battery age, etc.

Impulse e-bike system logo Silver-Battery Gold-Battery Platinum-Battery
Capacity 312 Wh 416 Wh 482 Wh
Level Eco 70 - 100 km 90 - 130 km 110 - 160 km
Level Sport 60 - 85 km 80 - 115 km 95 - 140 km
Level Power 50 - 70 km 65 - 90 km 80 - 110 km
Bosch e-bike system logo Silver-Battery Gold-Battery Platinum-Battery
Capacity 300 Wh 400 Wh 500 Wh
Level Eco 110 km 145 km 180 km
Level Power 60 km 80 km 100 km
Level Sport 50 km 65 km 80 km
Level Turbo 42 km 55 km 70 km
Shimano Steps e-bike system logo Silver-Battery Gold-Battery Platinum-Battery
Capacity 418 Wh 500 Wh
Level Eco 125 km 145 km
Level Normal 85 km 100 km
Level High 60 km 70 km
Panasonic e-bike system logo Silver-Battery Gold-Battery Platinum-Battery
Capacity 317 Wh 396 Wh 486 Wh
Level Eco 50 - 80 km 65 - 110 km 70 - 120 km
Level Standard 35 - 60 km 45 - 80 km 55 - 95 km
Level High 30 - 50 km 40 - 65 km 45 - 70 km

What warranty does Gazelle offer on its e-bikes?

Gazelle warrants that the supplied batteries still will have at least 80% of the original capacity after 2 years or 300 load cycles. On the other e-bike components Gazelle offers 2 years manufacturer's warranty. And just to show how convinced Gazelle is about the quality of their products: in Holland consumers are able to purchase a 4-year extended warranty for their e-bikes (unfortunately this expanded warranty is not offered outside the Netherlands)!

What do others say about Gazelle e-bikes?

More e-bike tips?

Here your can find our overview of general tips on e-bikes.

Ratgeber Gazelle Elektrofahrräder: welche E-bikes gibt es von Gazelle und welches ist für mich das richtige?

Wer is Gazelle?

Logo Gazelle Fahrräder Gazelle ist der größte Fahrradhersteller in Holland mit einem Marktanteil von über 20% und hat seit der Gründung des Unternehmens vor über 100 Jahren mehr als 14.5 Millionen Fahrräder produziert. Holland hat die weltweit größte Dichte von Radfahrern, und fast allen Holländischen Radfahrer betrachten ihre Räder als praktisches, ganzjahrtaugliches Transportmittel. Auch Elektroräder gehören seit Jahren zum Erscheinungsbild auf Hollands Straßen. Derzeit (Stand Herbst 2016) sind über 1,3 Million E-bikes in Holland in Gebrauch. Und auch im Bereich Elektrofahrräder ist Gazelle in Holland der größte Anbieter. Gazelle hat in den letzten 10 Jahren über 500,000 Elektroräder verkauft und hat mit verschiedenen Variationen des Models Gazelle "Orange" in verschiedenen Jahren das meistverkaufte Elektrorad in Holland gestellt.

Welche Gazelle Elektrofahrrad-Systeme gibt es?

Gazelle bietet 4 verschiedene Elektrofahrrad-Systeme an:

Gazelle Mittelmotor E-Bike Die Elektrofahrräder mit Impulse, Bosch und Shimano Steps Systemen haben sehr starke E-bike Mittelmotoren mit 70, 48 bzw 50 Nm Drehmoment und sind ausser am flachem Terrain auch sehr gut für hügeliges Gelände geeignet und damit all-round Elektrofahrräder, die alle österreichischen Straßen mühelos meistern können.

Gazelle Vordernabenmotor E-Bike Das Panasonic System hat einen sehr stillen aber weniger starken E-bike Vordernaben-Motor mit 30 Nm Drehmoment. Dieses System ist gut für flaches Gelände geeignet (hmm, welches Land könnte da gemeint sein?) und daher nur bedingt für den Gebrauch auf Österreichs Straßen geeignet. Damit österreichische Kunden sich keine Gedanken machen müssen und überall sorgenfrei unterwegs sein können, bietet Stadtradler das Panasonic System von Gazelle in Österreich nicht an.

Die verschiedenen Elektrofahrrad-Systeme können mit unterschiedlich großen Akkus ausgestattet werden (Silber-, Gold- oder Platin-Akku), damit die preiswerteste Lösung für die gewünschte Reichweite gewählt werden kann.

Welche Reichweiten pro Elektrofahrrad-System, Unterstützungsstufe und Akku?

Die Reichweiten in den untenstehenden Tabellen sind als Indikationen zu verstehen, da die tatsächlichen Reichweiten von der Kombination von Fahrergewicht, Gelände, Umgebungstemperatur, angewendetem Schaltungsgang, Geschwindigkeit, Reifendruck, Alter des Akkus, usw. abhängig sind.

Logo Impulse Elektrofahrrad-System Silber-Akku Gold-Akku Platinum-Akku
Kapazität 312 Wh 416 Wh 482 Wh
Stufe Eco 70 - 100 km 90 - 130 km 110 - 160 km
Stufe Sport 60 - 85 km 80 - 115 km 95 - 140 km
Stufe Power 50 - 70 km 65 - 90 km 80 - 110 km
Logo Bosch Elektrofahrrad-System Silber-Akku Gold-Akku Platinum-Akku
Kapazität 300 Wh 400 Wh 500 Wh
Stufe Eco 110 km 145 km 180 km
Stufe Power 60 km 80 km 100 km
Stufe Sport 50 km 65 km 80 km
Stufe Turbo 42 km 55 km 70 km
Logo ShimanoSteps Elektrofahrrad-System Silber-Akku Gold-Akku Platinum-Akku
Kapazität 418 Wh 500 Wh
Stufe Eco 125 km 145 km
Stufe Normal 85 km 100 km
Stufe High 60 km 70 km
Logo Panasonic Elektrofahrrad-System Silber-Akku Gold-Akku Platinum-Akku
Kapazität 317 Wh 396 Wh 486 Wh
Stufe Eco 50 - 80 km 65 - 110 km 70 - 120 km
Stufe Standard 35 - 60 km 45 - 80 km 55 - 95 km
Stufe High 30 - 50 km 40 - 65 km 45 - 70 km

Welche Garantie bietet Gazelle auf Ihre Elektroräder?

Gazelle garantiert, dass die von ihr gelieferten Akkus nach 2 Jahren oder weniger als 300 Entladungen noch mindestens 80% ihrer ursprünglichen Kapazität haben. Auch für die übrigen E-bike Komponenten gewährt Gazelle 2 Jahre Garantie. Und nur als Zeichen, wie überzeugt Gazelle von ihrer eigenen Elektrofahrrad-Qualität ist: in Holland bietet Gazelle die Möglichkeit einer entgeltlichen 4-Jahres-Garantie auf ihre Elektrofahrräder an (diese erweiterte Garantie wird derzeit ausserhalb von Holland leider nicht angeboten)!

Was sagen andere über Gazelle Elektroräder?

Mehr Elektrofahrrad-Tipps?

Hier findest du eine Übersicht von allgemeinen Tipps und Informationen zu Elektrofahrrädern.